Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
- access databases off campus
- determine a journal's impact factor/other journal metrics
- find peer-reviewed articles
- find the full text of an article from a citation
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
- Science Direct (Elsevier)
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Medline (EBSCO)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from approximately 5,400 current biomedical journals.
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Online)
Explore the SciFinder Training Materials. Note: For on-campus use by Emmanuel faculty and students only and requires registration using your Emmanuel email account from an on-campus computer to access.
- BioMed Central
Over 200 open access journals covering all areas of biology and medicine.
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR )
- AGRICOLA: (AGRICultural OnLine Access)
"Database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators." Encompasses agricultural, veterinary, plant, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences.
- ArXiv Open-access database with over 939,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics. Cornell University Libraries.
- GQuery: Cross-Database NCBI search
Search in individual databases or across 40 molecular and biomedical literature databases including PubMed, and databases for DNA and protein sequence, structure, gene, genome, genetic variation and gene expression. National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
- PLANTS Database
U.S. Department of Agriculture's database of plants in the United States and its territories. Searchable by scientific or common name and symbol.
- RCSB Protein Data Bank
Explore biological molecular structures. Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB), the State University of New Jersey, the San Diego Supercomputer Center, and the University of California, San Diego.
- Science Tracer Bullets Online
Science Reference Services research guides from the Library of Congress.
- SciTech Connect
"[I]ncludes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information sponsored by DOE [Department of Energy] through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today."
- Virtual Cell Animation Collection
View still images and movies for each topic. North Dakota State University.
- Merck Manuals
Searchable versions of these commonly used reference books are available:
- The Merck Manual Consumer Version provides medical information for the general public.
- The Merck Manual Professional Version provides reference material on diagnosis, signs and symptoms, prognosis and related treatments including drug therapies.
- The Merck Veterinary Manual provides reference materials for veterinarians and other related animal health providers.
- The Complete Works of Charles Darwin Online
Explore Complete Publications, Private Papers & Manuscripts, and Supplementary Works, which includes a bibliography of works cited. Darwin Online project was founded by Dr. John van Wyhe, University of Cambridge.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Explore North American species of plants, animals, fungi, and microbes and their hierarchical classification. Presented by a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican governmental agencies.
- ICUN Red List of Threatened Species
Explore Initiatives and Resources. Additionally, use the search box to find the status of a specific animal. Created by the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (ICUN), now called the World Conservation Union.
- USGS: Ecosystems Mission Area Presents biological resources and conservation management resources in the United States. U.S. Geological Survey.
- Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University
Explore Bioethics topics on the right-hand side of the page or select the Bioethics Resources tab in the center of the page.
- Department of Bioethics
National Institutes of Health.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library
"[A] consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible" their collections of biodiversity literature.
- Global Biodiversity Information Facility
"The Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) is an international open data infrastructure, funded by governments."
- Tree of Life Web Project
"A collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history." Originally hosted at University of Arizona.
- Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics (Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)
Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University’s libraries, archives, and special collections that contribute to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of diseases and offer important historical perspectives on the science and the public policy of epidemiology today.