= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
Subject-Specific Databases: A - Z
- access databases off campus
- find peer-reviewed articles
- find the full text of an article from a citation
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
Subject-Specific Databases: A - Z
- Gale Academic OneFile (1980 - current)
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.
- Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.
- Art Full Text
- Art Full-Text provides articles from over 300 journals from 1995 to present and abstracts and indexing of more than 600 periodicals back to 1984, many of them peer-reviewed. Expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
- Art Index Retrospective indexes almost 600 titles published between 1929 and 1984.
- Gale Academic Onefile Select
Multidisciplinary database provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly (peer-reviewed/refereed) and general-interest journals and news magazines embracing all academic disciplines.
- Humanities International Complete
Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR )
- Library of Congress
Explore the Digital collections.
- Literature Online (ProQuest) Texts of over 355,000 literary works with searchable, full-text criticism and reference resources for the study of literature in English. Literature Online also provides searchable indexes of literary criticism, including ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) and the full text of over 330 literature journals
- Project MUSE®
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
This index features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a more than 20,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
- American Folk-life Center
"Created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to 'preserve and present' the great heritage of American folklife through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibition, publication, and training." American Folk-life Center, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School:Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Browse by century or document collection. The text comparison feature allows readers to view two versions of the same documents simultaneously. Maintained on Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library web site.
"University of California's free public gateway"" to primary documents ""selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses" and their partners statewide.
- Documenting the American South
"Primary resources for the study of Southern history, literature, and culture." University Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian: History & Culture
- Massachusetts Digital Commonwealth
"Digital Commonwealth is a Web portal and fee-based repository service for online cultural heritage materials held by Massachusetts libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives."
- The Making of America (MOA)
"Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction." Cornell University. See also University of Michigan's Making of America.
- National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
U.S. Federal Government website providing access to Federal Government Records and more. Select the Research Our Records option at the top left and, then, Research a Specific Topic.
- September 11 Digital Archive
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University and American Social History Project, City University of New York Graduate Center.
- The Valley of the Shadow
Documents and images detailing the Civil War experience of one Union and one Confederate community at opposite ends of the Shenandoah Valley. Parts of the site are searchable. Maintained by Edward L. Ayers, Professor of History at the University of Virginia.
- Vietnam Center and Archive
"[C]ollects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience." Texas Tech University.
- American Museum of Photography
Contains historical photographic exhibits online along with a guide to Protecting and Preserving Photographs.
- The Bostonian Society and Old State House Museum
- Disability History Museum
Designed “to foster a deeper understanding about how changing cultural values, notions of identity, laws and policies have shaped and influenced the experience of people with disabilities, their families and their communities over time."
- Forbes House Museum
"The Forbes House Museum explores America’s birth as a global economic power in the 19th century through the prism of one family’s inspiring stories of adventure, innovation, entrepreneurial spirit, and civic leadership."
- Gibson House Museum
"The Gibson House Museum is a private, nonprofit house museum in Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood."
- Massachusetts Historical Society
- Museum of African American History, Boston and Nantucket
Includes the "oldest African Meeting house* in America" along with the "Abiel Smith School"*
- National Museum of African Art
"The Smithsonian's National Museum of African Art fosters the discovery and appreciation of the visual arts of Africa, the cradle of humanity." Smithsonian Institution.
- National Museum of American History
Explore Collections and Exhibitions. Smithsonian Institution.
- Nichols House Museum
"This museum educates visitors by providing a unique glimpse into the domestic life in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries on Boston's historic Beacon Hill." Boston, MA
- Royall House and Slave Quarters
"In the eighteenth century, the Royall House and Slave Quarters was home to the largest slave-holding family in Massachusetts and the enslaved Africans who made their lavish way of life possible." Medford, Massachusetts.
- SIRIS Smithsonian Institution Research Information System
Searchable gateway of the Smithsonian research collections of libraries, archives, photographs, 600,000 records comprising the National Inventory of American Painting and Sculpture databases, and specialized research bibliographies.
- Smithsonian American Art Museum
First collection of American art in the United States with works by over 7000 artists from colonial times to the present. Explore the Research and Collections tabs in the top menu. Smithsonian Institution.
- American FactFinder
United States Census Bureau.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis
Explore Economic Accounts by Type for national, international, regional, and industry data. Presented by the U.S. Department of Commerce.
- Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM)
" The FCSM was created by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to inform and advise OMB and the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy (ICSP) on methodological and statistical issues that affect the quality of Federal data."
- Population Reference Bureau (PRB)
Explore the Datafinder link in the top menu. Presented by the Population Reference Bureau in partnership with the University of Michigan.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1789 - 2012
Contains "statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." Continues annually as ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States, beginning with 2013. REFERENCE HA 202 .S73 [Check Availability]
- U.S. Census Bureau