Cardinal Cushing Library

National Native American Heritage Month

Book Cover: Silent Victims Book cover: Art For An Undivided Earth  Book Cover: Indigenous Bodies  Book Cover: Interventions Book Cover: The Inconvenient Indian  Book Cover: Writing Home
Selected Websites

Additional Government Resources
 
Video Resources
  • American History in Video Restricted Resource
    Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
  • Kanopy Restricted Resource
    Results for a search for Native American in this streaming video collection.
  • Native Report
    "[A]n entertaining, informative magazine style series that celebrates Native American culture and heritage, listens to tribal elders, and talks to some of the most powerful and influential leaders of Indian Country today."  WDSE - WRPT (see About)
Primary Documents
See the Primary Documents research guide for further resources.
 


American History 1493-1945 Restricted Resource
Module 1: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859 Sources from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Contains books, diaries, correspondence, newspapers, photographs, military documents, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera. “The majority of the collection is unique manuscript. It is an extensive resource for scholars, educators and students and is considered one of the finest archives for material on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum and civil war eras.”  Module 2: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945 Includes documents on slavery, the Civil War, and secession.

American Indian Histories and Cultures Restricted Resource
Contains manuscripts, artwork, photographs, rare printed books, and maps related to the historical and personal stories of the colonization of the Americas from early contacts between European settlers and American Indians  to the modern era, and “told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.” Sources from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at The Newberry Library, Chicago.

Massachusetts Historical Society
See Photographing the American Indian: Portraits of Native Americans, 1860-1913, from the collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
See Indians/Native Americans.
Current and Peer Reviewed Journals
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
 
  • Archaeology of Eastern North America
    "Presents articles primarily on the archaeology of Native American inhabitants and cultures of eastern North America (from Ohio eastward, including Canadian provinces)."
     
  • American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research
    "Exclusively about American Indian & Alaska Native health. A forum for work on the cause, assessment, epidemiology, treatment, & prevention of alcohol, drug, & mental health disorders & related phenomena among American Indians & Alaska Natives."
     
  • The American Indian Quarterly
    "A journal presenting interdisciplinary studies in anthropology, history, literature, and folklore for the academic audience."
     
  • Diaspora, Indigenous, and Minority Education
    "Focuses on critical discourse and research in diaspora, indigenous, and minority education; is dedicated to researching cultural sustainability in a world increasingly consolidating under national, transnational, and global organizations."
     
  • International Journal of Indigenous Health
    "The journal was established to advance knowledge and understanding to improve Indigenous health."
     
  • International Indigenous Policy Journal
    "Covers research addressing issues pertaining to indigenous peoples throughout the world."
     
  • Journal of American Indian Education
    "Covers educational issues for American Indians, First Nations, Native Hawaiian, Maori, Indigenous Peoples of Latin American and other Native peoples of the world."
     
  • Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAIS)
    "This journal provides a dynamic intellectual space for the communication and dissemination of excellent scholarship related to Indigenous Studies."
     
  • The Western Historical Quarterly
    Presents original articles dealing with the North American West; expansion & colonization, indigenous histories, regional studies (including western Canada, northern Mexico, Alaska & Hawaii), and transnational comparative, and borderland histories.
     
  • Wicazo Sa Review
    "Publishes the scholarship useful to the development of the discipline of Native American studies."
     
  • Whispering Wind
    "Magazine covering historical events, crafts, and material culture of the American Indian."
Museums
  • The American Indian Cultural Center and Museum
    The NACEA's mission is "To serve as a living center for cultural expression promoting awareness and understanding for people regarding Oklahoma American Indian cultures and heritage".
 
  • Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries, & Museums
    ATALM is an international non-profit organization that maintains a network of support for indigenous programs, provides culturally relevant programming and services, encourages collaboration among tribal and non-tribal cultural institutions, and articulates contemporary issues related to developing and sustaining the cultural sovereignty of Native Nations.
 
  • The Heard Museum
    "[T]he Heard successfully presents the stories of American Indian people from a first-person perspective, as well as exhibitions that showcase the beauty and vitality of traditional and contemporary art."
   
  • National Museum of the American Indian
    Part of the Smithsonian Institution, the National Museum of the American Indian "cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego."
 
Exhibits
   
Authors
General Resources
Selected Authors    
  • N. Scott Momaday (1934- )
    "Navarre Scott Momaday, a Kiowa novelist, poet, visual artist, and professor, came to the attention of a worldwide audience in 1969, after he became the first American Indian to win a Pulitzer Prize in fiction for House Made of Dawn."
 
  • Louise Erdrich (1954- )
    "Native American writer and storyteller Louise Karen Erdrich, an enrolled member of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa in North Dakota, is a celebrated author and well loved by many critics, scholars, and the general reading public."
   
  • Winona LaDuke (1959- )
    "Native American economist, writer, and activist Winona LaDuke (Anishinabe) is an advocate for indigenous people throughout the world, promoting indigenous control of traditional homelands."
 
  • Simon J. Ortiz (1941- )
    "Simon J. Ortiz is an Acoma Pueblo writer who is recognized by scholars of Native American literature as one of the most significant voices to come out of the Native American Renaissance of the 1960s and 1970s."
Artists
General Resources Selected Artists
  • Charlene Teters (1952- )
    Charlene Teters is "known for her activism and art, is presently a professor at the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, New Mexico."

     
  • Edmonia Lewis (1844-1907)
    The first professional sculpter of African-American and Native American decent, Lewis achieved international recognition for her beautiful marble sculptures.

     
  • Gilbert Hay (1951- )
    An Inuit carver and printmaker whose work is displayed across Canada.

     
  • Lloyd "Kiva" New (1916 - 2002)
    Cherokee artist and educator best know for his work in fashion.

     
  • Maria Martinez (1884 - 1980)
    "For more than eight decades, Maria Martinez continued and extended the centuries-old pottery traditions of San Ildefonso Pueblo in northern New Mexico. She is considered a matriarch of Native American pottery." National Museum of Women in the Arts

     
  • Roxanne Swentzell (1962- )
    A Pueblo artist currently located in Santa Fe, New Mexico, Swentzell creates sculptures of the human figure in clay and bronze.
National
  • American Indian Business Leaders
    American Indian Business Leaders is the "only American Indian non-profit organization solely dedicated to empowering business students in the United States." They aim to increase and empower the presence of Native Americans in business.
     
  • American Indian College Fund
    According to the American Indian College Fund, only 13.8% of Native Americans have a college degree. They have provided over $170 million dollars to native students to help them enter and stay in school.
  • Center for Native American Youth
    "The Center for Native American Youth is a national advocacy organization working to improve the health, safety, and overall well-being of Native American youth ages 24 and under."
  • First Nations Development Institute
    The First Nations Development Institute invests in and creates "innovative institutions and models that strengthen asset control and support economic development for American Indian people and their communities."
  • Intertribal Agriculture Council
    Founded in 1987 to "pursue and promote the conservation, development and use of our agricultural resources for the betterment of our people."
  • National Congress of American Indians
    "NCAI, a non-profit organization, advocates for a bright future for generations to come by taking the lead to gain consensus on a constructive and promising vision for Indian Country. The organization’s policy issues and initiatives are driven by the consensus of our diverse membership, which consists of American Indian and Alaska Native tribal governments, tribal citizens, individuals, and Native and non-Native organizations."
  • National Indian Justice Center
    Established in 1983, the National Indian Justice Center designs and delivers "legal education, research, and technical assistance programs which seek to improve the quality of life for Native communities and the administration of justice in Indian country."
  • National Native American Bar Association
    The National Native American Bar Association is dedicated to the advancement of justice for Native American communities, and "of protecting the governmental sovereignty of the more than 560 independent Native American Tribal governments in the United States."
  • Native American Rights Fund
    The Native American Rights Fund (NARF) provides "legal assistance to Indian tribes, organizations, and individuals nationwide who may have otherwise gone without adequate representation."
  • Women Empowering Women for Indian Nations
    "Women Empowering Women for Indian Nations (WEWIN) exists to provide Native women with the knowledge, support, and resources necessary to achieve success in their personal and professional lives."
Local
  • Massachusetts Center for Native American Awareness
    The MCNAA's goal is to "provide assistance, support and opportunities to Native American residents; and to increase public understanding and awareness about Native American rights, culture and history."
     
  • Massachusetts' Commission on Indian Affairs (MCIA)
    Indian Affairs fundamental role is to assist Native American individuals, tribes and organizations in their relationship with state and local government agencies and to advise the Commonwealth in matters pertaining to Native Americans.
     
  • North American Indian Center of Boston
    Empowering and investing in the Native American community of Massachusetts for over 45 years.
     
  • Native American LifeLines
    The Mission of Native American LifeLines is to promote health and social resiliency within Urban American Indian communities.