Selected Web Resources
"This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum."
- Asian Pacific American Heritage Month at PBS
"A special PBS collection of stories that explores the history, traditions and culture of Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States."
- Asian Pacific American Teaching Resources from Smithsonian Education
A collection of lessons for educators on Asian Pacific heritage.
- National Archives Collection: Japanese Relocation During WWII
A brief history of Japanese Internment during World War II, as well as a collection of related primary sources.
- Between the Lines: Asian American Female Poets
"This documentary offers rare interviews with over 15 major Asian-Pacific American women poets." (2001)
- Ku Kanaka (Stand Tall): A Native Hawaiian Leader
"This documentary profiles the late Kanalu Young whose dive into shallow water at age 15 left him quadriplegic. Angry and defiant, he begins to change when he discovers an untold story of Hawaiian history which fires him up to become a leader of his people." (2017)
- Island Roots: A Filipino-American Story
"When the Filipino pioneers of the 1920's and 30's settled on Bainbridge Island, Washington they were hired by Japanese-American landowners to tend their renowned strawberry farms. The bombing of Pearl Harbor turned this relationship upside down when the Japanese Americans were forcibly removed from the Island and incarcerated during WWII." (2007)
- Home from the Eastern Sea: The Story of Asian Immigration to America
"This is the story of the immigration of Chinese, Japanese, and Filipinos to America. The documentary explores the history of each nationality through the personal stories of representative families." (1990)
- Fumiko Hayashida: The Woman Behind the Symbol, An Iconic Photo of a Japanese Internee
"Fumiko Hayashida: The Woman Behind the Symbol is both a historical portrait of Fumiko, her family and the Bainbridge Island Japanese American community in the decades before World War II as well as a contemporary story which follows 97-year old Fumi and her daughter Natalie as they return to the site of the former Minidoka internment camp." (2009)
- Crossing Lines: An Indian American Woman Celebrates Her Heritage
"The story of an Indian American woman's struggle to stay connected to India after the loss of her father." (2007)
- The Chinese Gardens
"The Chinese Gardens looks at the lost Chinese community in Port Townsend, WA, examining anti-Chinese violence in the Pacific Northwest in the late 1800s and drawing connections between past and present race relations in the United States." (2012)
- Chinese Couplets: A Family's Journey Though Chinese Exclusion
"Part memoir, part history, part investigation, Chinese Couplets spans two centuries, three countries and four generations of women in this intimate story that reveals the impact of America's Chinese Exclusion Acts on journalist filmmaker Felicia Lowe's family." (2015)
- Chinese in the Frontier West: An American Story
"This film documents the large-scale migration of Chinese to California during the Gold Rush of the 1850s and the central role that these immigrants played in developing the American West by building the first Transcontinental Railroad and transforming California into the breadbasket of the nation." (2001)
Current and Peer Reviewed Journals
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
- Asian American Policy Review
Dedicated solely to analyzing public policy issues facing the Asian Pacific American community.
- Asian-Pacific Economic Literature
Provides information on economic development in the Asian-Pacific region.
- Asian-Pacific Law & Policy Journal
Objective is to disseminate legal research by law professors, legal practitioners, social scientists, economists, and students; to increase awareness of legal issues impacting the region
- Journal of Asian Pacific Communication (Multilingual Matters)
Discusses & interprets language & communication issues as they pertain to the people of Asian Pacific regions & impact on their Diaspora immigrant communities worldwide.
- The Journal of Pacific History
Articles and notes concerned generally with the political, economic, religious and cultural factors affecting human presence in the Pacific Islands (including Hawaii and New Guinea) aimed at historians, prehistorians and anthropologists.
- The Contemporary Pacific
Covers contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. Features articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, and cultural topics.
- East Asian History
A scholarly, peer-reviewed journal that focuses on all aspects of East Asian History. It is also an open access journal, and you do not need to log in to read articles.
- Smithsonian's Asian Pacific American Center
This is the digital home of the Simthsonian's Asian Pacific American collection. Be sure to check out their digital exhibit "A Day in the Queer Life of Asian Pacific Americans"!
- Peabody Essex Museum
Located in Salem, Massachusetts, the Peabody collection spans 200 years of history, representing: American Decorative Arts; Asian, Oceanic and African Arts and Culture; Asian Export Art; Early American Architecture; Maritime Art and History; Native American Art and Archaeology; and Natural History.
- Asia Society Museum
"Groundbreaking exhibitions of traditional and contemporary Asian and Asian American art."
- Asian American Arts Center
The Asian American Arts Center promotes the "preservation and creative vitality of Asian American cultural growth through the arts, and its historical and aesthetic linkage to other communities. The Arts Centre accomplishes this by presenting and interpreting the ongoing synthesis of contemporary American and Asian art forms, utilizing performance, exhibition, and public education."
- Japanese American National Museum
"The mission of the Japanese American National Museum is to promote understanding and appreciation of America’s ethnic and cultural diversity by sharing the Japanese American experience."
- Korean American National Museum
"The Korean American National Museum's mission is to preserve and interpret the history, experiences, culture and achievements of Americans of Korean ancestry."
- USC Pacific Asia Museum
"USC Pacific Asia Museum’s mission is to further intercultural understanding through the arts and culture of Asia and the Pacific Islands."
- Art by Asian Americans at the Smithsonian American Art Museum
"SAAM has more than 450 works by over one-hundred artists of Asian descent in its collections, including works by modern masters Yasuo Kuniyoshi, Chiua Obata, and Isamu Noguchi. Contemporary artists in the collection include Roger Shimomura, Masami Teraoka, and Jean Shin."
- Celebrate! Where Asia Meets America at the Smithsonian
An exhibition spotlighting Asian collections across the Smithsonian. Check out this page for Asian Pacific American Heritage related items at the Smithsonian's Asia Pacific American Center.
- Chinese American: Exclusion/Inclusion
Chinese American: Exclusion/Inclusion is a permanent Chinese Historical Society of America exhibition that "chronicles the complex history of the Chinese in America, from the early days of the China trade to the history of Chinese immigration and the life of Chinese Americans."
- In Between Places: Korean-American Artists in the Bay Area
"In-Between Places: Korean-American Artists in the Bay Area is the story of Korean-American artists and their dreams, featuring new work by: Jung Ran Bae; Sohyung Choi; Kay Kang; Miran Lee; Youngjune Lew; Nicholas Oh; Younhee Paik; and Minji Sohn."
- Jhumpa Lahiri (1967- )
Lahiri novels have
recievedwide acclaim and her debut short story collection, "Interpreter of Maladies," won the Pulitzer Prize. Check out "Teach Yourself Italian," an article in the New Yorker by Lahiri, originally written in Italian, about her experiancelearning the language.
raeLee (1955- )
raeLee is the author of five novels: Native Speaker (1995); A Gesture Life (1999); Aloft (2004); The Surrendered, which was a Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize; and On Such a Full Sea (2014) which was a Finalist for the NBCC and won the Heartland Fiction Prize."
- Viet Thanh Nguyen (1971- )
"Viet Thanh Nguyen’s novel The Sympathizer is a New York Times
best sellerand won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction," and he is a professor at the University of Southern California.
- Amy Tan (1952- )
Tan's novels include "The Joy Luck Club," "The Kitchen God's Wife," "The Hundred Secret Senses," "The Bonesetter's Daughter," "Saving Fish from Drowning," and "The Valley of Amazement," all New York Times bestsellers. She is also the author of a memoir, two children’s books, and numerous articles for magazines, including The New Yorker, Harper’s Bazaar, and National Geographic."
- Hanya Yanagihara (1974- )
Yanagihara is a senior editor for the New York Times and bestselling novelist. Her most recent novel, "A Little Life," was a finalist for both the Man Booker Prize and the National Book Award for Fiction.
- Lenore Chin (1949- )
San Francisco artist whose
portaitshighlight the diversity of the city. Her work was recently spotlighted at the community gallery of the GLBT Historical Society.
- Colette Fu (1965- )
Fu is a photographer and pop-up book artist. "Her pop-up books are included in the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Library of Congress, Metropolitan Museum of Art, the West Collection and many private and rare archive collections."
- Fred Ho (1957-2014)
Bass saxophonist Fred Ho made a name for himself as both a composer and musician in the world of American jazz and theater. Additional information on his works can be found in the ebook on the right.
- Paul Horiuchi (1906-1999)
Painter Paul Horiuchi is best known for his over 2,000 paintings as well as the glass mosaic "Seattle Mural", which now serves as the backdrop of the amphitheater at the Seattle Center.
- Gerard Tsatakawa (1947- )
A sculpture artist whose "designs are a confluence of the cultures and traditions of the Pacific Rim." One of his
sculptires, MITT, is permanently installed in front of the Seattle Mariners Stadium.
- Asian American Lawyers Association of Massachusetts
"Since its inception in 1984, the Asian American Lawyers Association of Massachusetts (AALAM) has devoted its energy and resources to serving the Asian American legal community and improving and facilitating the administration of law and justice."
- Boston Asian Youth Essential Service
"Boston Asian Youth Essential Service (Boston Asian YES) is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization founded in 1975 in response to the emerging needs and interests of Asian youth who did not have access to services, resources and opportunities that met their specific needs and interests."
- Chinese Historical Society of New England
The CHSNE is the "first educational organization dedicated solely to documenting, preserving, and promoting the history and legacy of Chinese immigration in New England."
- India Association of Greater Boston
"India Association of Greater Boston (IAGB) is the oldest and one of the leading Indian-American organizations in New England. It serves the Indian-American communities in the Greater Boston area - Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island."
- Massachusetts Asian and Pacific Islanders for Health
"To engage young people in improving the health and well-being of Asian and Pacific Islander (API) communities in Massachusetts."
- Asian-American Women's Political Initiative
"The Asian-American Women's Political Initiative works to ensure that Asian-American women and the Asian-American community have a voice in their government."
- Asian Women in Business
"Founded in 1995, Asian Women In Business (AWIB) is a non-profit, tax-exempt organization with the primary mission of assisting Asian women entrepreneurs and professionals."
- The Center for Asian Pacific American Women
"The Center for Asian Pacific American Women (The Center) is a national, non-profit, non-advocacy organization dedicated to the enhancement and enrichment of leadership skills for Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) women through education, mentorship, and networking."
- Ascend: Pan-Asian Leaders
"Ascend is the largest, non-profit Pan-Asian organization for business professionals in North America. Established in 2005, Ascend has grown to serve professionals and corporations across various professions and across multiple industries."
- Asian American Business Development Center
"Asian American Business Development Center was established in New York City in 1994 to promote greater recognition of Asian American businesses’ contributions to the general economy. AABDC encourages Asian American businesses to be more actively involved in issues and policies that directly affect them at the federal, state and city levels and provides capacity-building assistance to business entities that enables them to compete in the mainstream marketplace and expand business opportunities."
- Asian American Journalists Association
"The Asian American Journalists Association (AAJA) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit educational and professional organization with more than 1,500 members across the United States and Asia. Since its founding, AAJA has been at the forefront of change in the journalism industry."
- National Association of Asian American Professionals
"The National Association of Asian American Professionals is a non-profit organization that cultivates and empowers Asian & Pacific Islander leaders through professional development, community service, and networking."
- Asian Americans Advancing Justice
"Asian Americans Advancing Justice - Los Angeles (Advancing Justice - LA) is the nation’s largest legal and civil rights organization for Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders (NHPI)."
- Asian American Legal Defense & Education Fund
"Founded in 1974, the Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund (AALDEF) is a national organization that protects and promotes the civil rights of Asian Americans. By combining litigation, advocacy, education, and organizing, AALDEF works with Asian American communities across the country to secure human rights for all."
- National Asian Pacific American Bar Association
"The National Asian Pacific American Bar Association (NAPABA) is the national association of Asian Pacific American attorneys, judges, law professors, and law students."
- National Asian Pacific American Law Student Association
"The National Asian Pacific American Law Student Association (NAPALSA) represents the interests of Asian Pacific American law students and provides advocacy, support, and career development opportunities for its members throughout the United States"