The Emmanuel College Learning Commons offers a resource and technology-rich environment where you can discover, create, innovate, explore, study and reflect. Our team of caring professionals offers the expertise and support to help you learn and grow.

Library | ARC | ATIG | DiscoveryLab | IT Helpdesk

Learning Commons | Cardinal Cushing Library

Database List: G

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All
These databases are licensed for the exclusive use of enrolled Emmanuel College students, College Faculty, and Staff. Remote access is available for most of the Library's subscription databases with an Emmanuel portal username and password.

Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only  


Gale Biography in Context Restricted Resource About
Integrates GALE Cengage Learning reference works along with magazine and journal articles, images, videos, audio files, and website links. Search for current or historical people by name, occupation, nationality, and birth/death dates.  Use the advanced search feature for further search options.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource About
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference resources for multidisciplinary research, including: fashion, film and filmmakers, pop culture, and multicultural issues. Includes the six-volume Beacham’s Guide to the Endangered Species of North America.
Gender Studies Collection Restricted Resource About
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
General OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource About
Contains news and periodical articles on: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general-interest topics, updated daily.
Google Scholar Restricted Resource About
Look for Full-Text at Emmanuel at the right of articles retrieved. In some cases you may need to click on the more option below the item record to access the Full-Text at Emmanuel link.
GreenFILE Restricted Resource About
A "collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles" concerning the environmental impact of humans. "Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as open access, full text for more than 4,700 records."
Grove Art Online Restricted Resource About
Searchable online version of the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art covering the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Not Sure Where to Start ?