The Emmanuel College Learning Commons offers a resource and technology-rich environment where you can discover, create, innovate, explore, study and reflect. Our team of caring professionals offers the expertise and support to help you learn and grow.

Library | ARC | ATIG | DiscoveryLab | IT Helpdesk

Learning Commons | Cardinal Cushing Library

Database List: All

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All
These databases are licensed for the exclusive use of enrolled Emmanuel College students, College Faculty, and Staff. Remote access is available for most of the Library's subscription databases with an Emmanuel portal username and password.

Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only  


ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) Restricted Resource About
Includes:
  • Dateline: Business, Economics: local and regional business publications
  • Global: Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal
  • Trade & Industry: Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals

Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource About
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource About
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.
ACLS Humanities E-books (HEB) Restricted Resource About
A collaboration of 31 learned societies, 125 publishers, and the University of Michigan's Publishing division presenting over 5,000 humanities e-books selected by scholars. "The collection includes monographs, critical studies, annotated primary sources, and essays -- both in print and out-of-print-- from the 1880's through the present.
ACS Online Journals Restricted Resource

AGRICOLA: (AGRICultural OnLine Access) About
"Database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators." Encompasses agricultural, veterinary, plant, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences.
American History 1493-1945 Restricted Resource About
Module 1: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
Sources from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Contains books, diaries, correspondence, newspapers, photographs, military documents, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera.
“The majority of the collection is unique manuscript. It is an extensive resource for scholars, educators and students and is considered one of the finest archives for material on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum and civil war eras.” 
Module 2: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
Includes documents on slavery, the Civil War, and secession.
American History in Video Restricted Resource About
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
American Indian Histories and Cultures Restricted Resource About
Contains manuscripts, artwork, photographs, rare printed books, and maps related to the historical and personal stories of the colonization of the Americas from early contacts between European settlers and American Indians  to the modern era, and “told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.” Sources from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at The Newberry Library, Chicago.
Art Full Text Restricted Resource About
  • Art Full-Text provides articles from over 300 journals from 1995 to present and abstracts and indexing of more than 600 periodicals back to 1984, many of them peer-reviewed. Expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
  • Art Index Retrospective indexes almost 600 titles published between 1929 and 1984.

ATLA Religion Databases with ATLASerials Restricted Resource About
ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) with ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's full text collection of 300+ major religion and theology journals. This collection also includes content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Indec (ATLA CPLI). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
BioMed Central About
Over 200 open access journals covering all areas of biology and medicine. Select 'Search' link at top right to query all BioMed Central articles.
Boston Business Journal Restricted Resource About
Includes business newspapers specific to 39 other areas of the U.S.
Boston Globe (1872-1986) Courtesy of the BPL Restricted Resource

Boston Globe (1980 - present) Restricted Resource About
Text-only articles, no page reproductions.  Does not inlcude content such as advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items.  Content is updated daily by 8 a.m.
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource About
Full text and indexing of scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and related topics.
Christian Science Monitor Restricted Resource

The Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource About
Note: The online version of the Chronicle is updated every weekday and provides relevant news, advice, and job listings for college and university faculty members and administrators.
CINAHL with Full Text Restricted Resource About
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981. Includes full text for more than 610 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1981.
Communication & Mass Media Complete About
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 770 journals and full-text coverage for over 450 journals in Communication, Mass Media, and other closely-related fields of study.
 
CountryWatch Restricted Resource About
Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource About
A good starting point for issues in the news.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource About
Over 700 reference books covering a variety of disciplines and including foreign language dictionaries. Includes a concept map, which provides related subjects and noted personalities to assist beginning research.
Criminal Justice Collection Restricted Resource About
Access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields including law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
DSM-5 Library Online Restricted Resource About
e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection Restricted Resource About
Duke University Press e-books in the humanities and social sciences. Emmanuel owns Duke ebooks published in 2011, 2012 and 2013.  There are also many unowned titles with full text available indicated by green check mark.  Search by topic to see subject areas indexed.
EconLitā„¢ with Full Text Restricted Resource About
Published by the American Economic Association; provides full-text for nearly 600 publications including titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo), such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives; citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969, covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.

Education Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource About
Education Full Text provides more than 360 journals full-text online. It indexes a total of more than 770 English-language periodicals, yearbooks, education-related books published after 1983. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.  
Education Journals (ProQuest) Restricted Resource About
Education Database includes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
Educator's Reference Complete (1980 - present) Restricted Resource About
Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. Updated daily.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource About
Full-text, searchable primary documents from the 18th century; over 180,000 titles: books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and other material in all subject areas, published in the UK and elsewhere. Includes an image gallery.
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource About
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 1,300,000 records along with references for additional information, citations and abstracts. Contains more than 323,000 full-text documents beginning with coverage from 1966.

ERIC: All Access
ERIC (the U.S. Dept. of Education database) provides free access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. Limited access to full-text materials.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 Restricted Resource About

Indexes more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library, Brown University.


Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource About
Multidisciplinary database provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly (peer-reviewed/refereed) and general-interest journals and news magazines embracing all academic disciplines.
Gale Biography in Context Restricted Resource About
Integrates GALE Cengage Learning reference works along with magazine and journal articles, images, videos, audio files, and website links. Search for current or historical people by name, occupation, nationality, and birth/death dates.  Use the advanced search feature for further search options.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource About
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference resources for multidisciplinary research, including: fashion, film and filmmakers, pop culture, and multicultural issues. Includes the six-volume Beacham’s Guide to the Endangered Species of North America.
Gender Studies Collection Restricted Resource About
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
General OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource About
Contains news and periodical articles on: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general-interest topics, updated daily.
Google Scholar Restricted Resource About
Look for Full-Text at Emmanuel at the right of articles retrieved. In some cases you may need to click on the more option below the item record to access the Full-Text at Emmanuel link.
GreenFILE Restricted Resource About
A "collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles" concerning the environmental impact of humans. "Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as open access, full text for more than 4,700 records."
Grove Art Online Restricted Resource About
Searchable online version of the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art covering the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Health and Medical Complete (ProQuest) Restricted Resource About
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete™ combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.
Health Reference Center - Academic Restricted Resource About
InfoTrac database for general health topics with some full text.
HeinOnline Restricted Resource About
Contains more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.
Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource About
Accesses complete runs of the Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004),  New York Times (1851-2014), Washington Post (1877-2001), and Wall Street Journal (1889-2000).  
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource About
Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
JAMA Restricted Resource

JSTOR Restricted Resource About
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
(See also Example of a Search in JSTOR )
Kanopy Restricted Resource About
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a board collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus. Enjoy!
Library of Congress About
The Library of Congress site houses a large variety of databases, including:
LISTA About
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) provides coverage of librarianship and information management. LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, as well as books, research reports, and proceedings.
Literature Online (ProQuest) Restricted Resource About
Texts of over 355,000 literary works with searchable, full-text criticism and reference resources for the study of literature in English.  Literature Online also provides searchable indexes of literary criticism, including ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) and the full text of over 330 literature journals

Literature Resource Center - LRC Restricted Resource About
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Medline (EBSCO) Restricted Resource About
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from approximately 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Mergent Intellect Restricted Resource About
Mergent Intellect contains worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Mergent Intellect provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.
 
Mergent Online Restricted Resource About
Mergent Online by FTSE Russell is a database of fundamental company information giving a detailed picture of over 10,000 U.S. public companies.  Now includes Bond Viewer - access bond data using the tab at the top of the page.  ("How do I use Mergent Online to create company comparison reports?")
Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource About
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource About
Offers detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, dissertations.  Produced by the Modern Language Association and coverage dates back to the 1920s.
Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource About
Enter the Company Ticker or Name in search box and hit enter. Under your company's name, there will be a "Quote" tab. On this tab, scroll down until you see "Competitors" located on the right side of the page. Or, you may select Industry Peers in the menu bar directly under the Quote tab.
New England Journal of Medicine Restricted Resource

New York Times (1980-present) Restricted Resource

New York Times Archive (1851-2014) Restricted Resource About
Full-text and full-page images of the New York Times from the newspaper's first issue. 
Nineteenth Century Collections: Women Restricted Resource About
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - Women: Transnational Networks provides primary source documents—serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals focusing on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection draws from the Library of Congress, the London School of Economics and Political Science Library, and the Library of the Society of Friends.
Nurse Theorists Video Series Restricted Resource About
This series explores the life work and stories of nursing's premier scholars. Each video features a modern theorist and includes video interviews in which the theorist discusses her life, the evolution of her work and its impact on nursing practice and education. Videos include a bibliography of each theorists' writings and a resource list of helpful websites and organizations.   
Collection Includes: Nurse Theorists - Portraits of Excellence Volumes I, II & III and Nurse Theorists - Excellence in Action
Nursing@OVID Restricted Resource About
Subscriptions to 69 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins nursing journals containing scholarly and research articles published by Wolters Kluwer Health Medical Research.   
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature Restricted Resource

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource About
Searchable version of the 20-volume set. Defines and identifies earliest known examples of words in written English.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Religion Restricted Resource About
The religion area of OHO provides new essays on critical topics and emerging issues in the study of religion, complementing hundreds of essays on Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and cross-cultural thematic studies.
Project MUSEĀ® Restricted Resource About
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource About
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Restricted Resource About
Content of the U.S. and international criminal justice journals includes: criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource About
ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password.
ProQuest Religion Restricted Resource About
Provides “international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.”
ProQuest US Newsstream Restricted Resource About
National and local newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites' transcripts including U.S. major dailies, CNN, Meet the Press and hundred's more. Current coverage and back files will vary.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource About
PsycARTICLES® covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research from 1894 to the present. The database contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. It includes all articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. A PsycINFO search will link to full text in PsycARTICLES®.
PsycINFO (1887 - present) Restricted Resource About
This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, contains indexing and abstracts for over 3 million articles. Most covered materials are from peer-reviewed publications. Links to available full-text in other EBSCO databases including PsycARTICLES®.
PubMed About
Note: Click on "Find it@Emmanuel" in the upper right of the detailed article record to link to Emmanuel Full-Text resources.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
R2 Digital Library Restricted Resource About
The R2 Digital Library is a leading eBook platform featuring a comprehensive selection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks with an interface optimized for the health sciences workflow.
Note: Single user access for all books.
RDS Business Reference Suite Restricted Resource About
Includes the following databases:
  • TableBase: "information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics."
  • Business and Industry: "content from over 1,800 trade and industry publications, regional, national and international newspapers, business dailies and newsletters."
  • Business & Management Practices: "coverage from more than 300 current professional and trade journals containing information relevant to the fields of management, planning, production, finance, marketing, information technology and human resources; as well as an additional 1,000+ more general business journals and newspapers."
Provided by the Boston Regional Library System.

RefWorks Restricted Resource About
[Access legacy RefWorks]
Regional Business News Restricted Resource About
Regional U.S. and Canadian business publications; some foreign coverage.
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource About
More than 800 Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Browse list of available titles.
Salem Press Online Restricted Resource About
Online access to the following Salem Press titles in the Library's Reference collection: The Decades series (1920's - 2000's), Careers in Chemistry, and Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Events. 

Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource About
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Online) Restricted Resource About
Explore the SciFinder Training Materials.
Note: For on-campus use by Emmanuel faculty and students only and requires registration using your Emmanuel email account from an on-campus computer to access.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law Restricted Resource About
This HeinOnline collection brings together, for the first time, all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.
SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource About
This index features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a more than 20,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
The Tablet Restricted Resource About
The Tablet is a progressive Catholic international weekly review published in London.
Taylor & Francis Group Journals Online Restricted Resource About
Nearly 1,000 journals in the social sciences and humanities published by the Taylor & Francis Group, including: Routledge, Garland, Psychology Press, and Taylor & Francis.
TRIP Database - Clinical Search Engine About
"Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care." It originates in the UK and is directed by Jon Brassey and Dr. Chris Price.
Value Line Investment Survey - Standard Edition Restricted Resource
Note: Three concurrent users only

Wall Street Journal Archive (1889 - 2000) Restricted Resource

Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (1984 - present) Restricted Resource About
See also WSJ Live for videos of breaking news, news clips, and opinions.
Wall Street Journal, Online Edition (2010 - present) Restricted Resource About
Includes articles from WSJ Journal in Education.
Washington Post (1996-present) Restricted Resource

Washington Post Archive (1877- 2001) Restricted Resource

Not Sure Where to Start ?