Cardinal Cushing Library

Database List: A

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All
These databases are licensed for the exclusive use of enrolled Emmanuel College students, College Faculty, and Staff. Remote access is available for most of the Library's subscription databases with an Emmanuel portal username and password.

Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only  


ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) Restricted Resource About
Includes:
  • Dateline: Business, Economics: local and regional business publications
  • Global: Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal
  • Trade & Industry: Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals

Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource About
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource About
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.
ACLS Humanities E-books (HEB) Restricted Resource About
A collaboration of 31 learned societies, 125 publishers, and the University of Michigan's Michigan Publishing division presenting over 5,000 humanities e-books selected by scholars. "The collection includes monographs, critical studies, annotated primary sources, and essays -- both in print and out-of-print-- taning from the 1880's through the present.
ACS Online Journals Restricted Resource

AGRICOLA: (AGRICultural OnLine Access) About
"Database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators." Encompasses agricultural, veterinary, plant, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences.
American History 1493-1945 Restricted Resource About
Module 1: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
Sources from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Contains books, diaries, correspondence, newspapers, photographs, military documents, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera.
“The majority of the collection is unique manuscript. It is an extensive resource for scholars, educators and students and is considered one of the finest archives for material on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum and civil war eras.” 
Module 2: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
Includes documents on slavery, the Civil War, and secession.
American History in Video Restricted Resource About
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
American Indian Histories and Cultures Restricted Resource About
Contains manuscripts, artwork, photographs, rare printed books, and maps related to the historical and personal stories of the colonization of the Americas from early contacts between European settlers and American Indians  to the modern era, and “told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.” Sources from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at The Newberry Library, Chicago.
Art Full Text Restricted Resource About
  • Art Full-Text provides articles from over 300 journals from 1995 to present and abstracts and indexing of more than 600 periodicals back to 1984, many of them peer-reviewed. Expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
  • Art Index Retrospective indexes almost 600 titles published between 1929 and 1984.

Art Full Text (FT 1995-current; indexing 1984-1995) and Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) Restricted Resource About
  • Art Full-Text provides articles from over 300 journals from 1995 to present and abstracts and indexing of more than 600 periodicals back to 1984, many of them peer-reviewed. Expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
  • Art Index Retrospective indexes almost 600 titles published between 1929 and 1984.

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource About
American Theological Library Association's index of journal articles, essays, book reviews, and other research material on "Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues."
Axis360 Restricted Resource About
An eBook collection of leisure titles. Includes bestsellers, fiction, non-fiction, and audio books provided by the Massachusetts Library System and their Commonwealth eBook Collections.
Not Sure Where to Start ?